top of page

NECYSC Summer Camp

Hellooo, World.

Sorry I've been really lazy about updating my blog these past few days (more like weeks), but, I have an excuse! I just got back from the New England Chinese Youth Summer Camp (NECYSC), which is an overnight summer camp and doesn't allow electronics, so I could not update. I have been attending this camp for three years now, and, as always, the experience was amazing. I will now bore you with the details.

Classes:

- Drumming (which is actually really hard, so don't over look it)

- Calligraphy

- Volleyball

- Cooking (yum. Who doesn't want to eat noodle soup made by the hands of fifteen children? And don't tell anyone, but there might have been peices of nail and skin in the carrots; according to Crystal, the grater wasn't easy to work with and can be used as a weapon because of it's sharpness)

- More cooking (we made mochi!)

- Chinese yoyo

- Chinese chess (Crystal and I were the only pair that didn't finish a game. All the action that happened was when Crystal took my '象' piece)

- Folk dancing (my group performed this for the Ending Performance, so we took this class everday. It was horrible. The teacher was very strict. He made us hold up flags that weighed like 100 pounds for so long that our arms became stiff. At least we got candy afterwards. It was almost worth it)

- Scented bags (do not underestimate the process that goes into making these. It is very frustrating)

- Kung fu

- Tai chi ("Find your inner yang" ~Mr. Rathbone, tai chi instructor)

- Acrobatics

- Puppeteering

- Dough figurines (do not be mislead by the 'dough' part of the name; the figurines are not edible)

What I learned:

- In drumming class, I learned the proper way to hold the drumming sticks.

- In calligraphy class, I learned that the teacher likes to talk.

- In volleyball class, I learned that Tanya has very sensitive forearms.

- In the first cooking class, I learned that a grater has four sides, all equally dangerous.

- In the second cooking class, I learned that when you make mochi, always keep a layer of flour on the dough or else you'll end up with very sticky hands.

In Chinese chess class, I learned that the general is the most important piece.

In folk dancing class, I learned how to dance to '小苹果' and '中国龙'. I also learned that half the kids in my group can do splits.

I tried to take a picture of Lillian's hair, but Briana oh-so-epically photobombed it.

Oh look, Crystal and Briana's feet at the bottom of the photograph

This is the CIT Dressup. It is an evening activity in which hall groups dress up their hall CITs and make them perform and compete against each other. My hall group, the Pink Puffles, and another hall group, The Cup Noodle Crew, got last place. Boo.

HAIL!!!

Lillian and Tanya showing off their chinese yo-yo skills

Playing card games at the Carnival is what these people are doing.

And with that last poorly taken photo, I end this post.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page